Forum

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Too many eggs in old recipes   Go to last post Go to last unread
#1 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2020 8:40:55 AM(UTC)
I’m reading through Recipes of the Highlands & Islands of Scotland, a cookbook originally from 1907 as “The Feill Cookery Book”. I’m noticing in recipes, there is an unusually high amount of eggs. I made something called French batter pudding that used 2 eggs that tasted quite eggy. (I use large eggs.) Now I’m reading through cake recipes, and for a cake that uses 1 lb butter, 1 lb sugar, 1 lb flour, it uses a whopping 16 eggs! Am I missing something? Are they using butterfly eggs? Does anyone have insight as to how their eggs translate to the eggs we use today?
#2 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2020 1:55:53 PM(UTC)

Interesting question. I'm no expert. I don't even do much baking, but I was under the impression that the chicken eggs we use today are generally bigger than the chicken eggs from 100 years ago. So you could try buying small eggs, but 16 eggs in a cake does still sound like a whole lot.

I tried quickly researching it to see what I could find. The section on "Egg Sizes [in] the USA" here is kind of interesting, although it says there's no simple answer as most older cookbooks didn't remark on egg sizes. Although there's a quote from an 1896 Fannie Farmer cookbook where she mentions "a pound of eggs (nine)". So that's something concrete you could go on. I haven't tried weighing eggs, but you could give it a try to see how your eggs compare.

#3 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2020 2:14:13 PM(UTC)

They might have had smaller eggs. The USDA has official standards for labeling eggs based on weight per dozen. Those 16 eggs in the cake recipe, I'm guessing, would be wildly out of proportion if you used large eggs, but if you used small or peewee eggs the cake would be on the eggy side though not bizarrely so.