Forum

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

10 Pages123>»
Cooking From Your Books   Go to last post Go to last unread
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 2, 2013 4:23:15 PM(UTC)

Regardless of the arrival of March, it's grey and raining and my thoughts have returned to braising. Those thoughts led me to oxtails and as a result, the recipe from Umberto's Kitchen - "Stewed Oxtails w/Tomato Relish" (Stufato di coda di bue e gremolata).  While I experiment with other oxtail recipes, this is the one I return to.  Redolent of red wine, tomatoes, mirapoix of vegetables, garlic and fresh herbs.  It's in the oven for the next couple of hours.

While looking at the book (Umberto's Kitchen), there were several other recipes which caught my eye that I haven't tried and this gave birth to a new idea for me. 

I'm going to pick a different book from my cookbook collection each week and choose a recipe I've never tried before.  Today's oxtail dish doesn't fall into that category, but it's the springboard to launch my new initiatve.

Anyone interested in coming along for the ride and posting your results?

#2 Posted : Saturday, March 2, 2013 7:28:57 PM(UTC)

We had a similar epihpany in our household! As autumn sets in, and thoughts turn to cooking,  we realised we have over 30,000 recipes sitting on the indexed half of our bookshelf, which really means there ought be no falling back on "tried and tested" for the next few years! So to start that journey, a few days ago we tried a recipe from an Australian Gourmet recipe: February 2013, p.100 (online) Sticky BBQ beef ribs with coleslaw which was amazing, and  last night.. Nov 2010, p48 Farfalle with asparagus, creme fraiche and tarragon (also online).. delicious.. so our autumn resolution: try something new 3 nights a week!. Now with tarraon left over we're going to try Chicken Chasseur (AGT, Jan 2011, (online)).. Journey on, life's short, eat well!

#3 Posted : Saturday, March 2, 2013 8:05:07 PM(UTC)