Notes and Reviews

  • We recommend it to serious cooks who want to explore this cuisine because, once you have started using it, it will reside on your kitchen shelf, not on your coffee table.
    by Kavey Eats about Vegetarian Dishes from Across the Middle East added on January 23, 2022   -  full review

  • ...looks at the magic elements that make a plate of food truly come into its own: acid, texture and contrast ...
    by Eat Your Books about Three: Acid, Texture, Contrast added on January 19, 2022   -  full review

  • My verdict is that these were excellent snacks- they were incredibly simple to make, and they reminded me of rice krispie treats. They’re definitely adult-friendly as well...
    by RecipeGirl about S'mores granola bars from King Arthur Baking Company: The Essential Cookie Companion added on January 17, 2022   -  full review

  • My verdict is that these were excellent snacks- they were incredibly simple to make, and they reminded me of rice krispie treats. They’re definitely adult-friendly as well...
    by RecipeGirl about S'mores granola bars from King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion added on January 17, 2022   -  full review

  • It’s sort of like the advent calendar of cookbooks. Except that I can see myself making a lot of things throughout the year.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Festive added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • This is a brilliant recipe that results in a gloriously lemony tart. It also uses orange zest and juice, which rounds out the flavour and adds extra complexity.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Caramelised citrus tart from Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • I really like this apple cake recipe, and it’s a great way to use up a bunch of apples in your fruit bowl...All in all, it’s one of my favourite recipes in La Vita E Dolce.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about The one true apple cake from Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • Although I like all of it, my favourite part are the hazelnuts, which make the cake almost like a Ferrero Rocher.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Chocolate, pear, hazelnut & brown sugar cake from Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • I used a tin of cherries. The cake turned out to be scrumptious, but next time I’d try frozen cherries instead. I think those would work better.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Almond, ricotta, olive oil & cherry cake from Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • Once you’re past the caramel hurdle, it’s plain sailing. And the resulting apricot upside-down cake is a pure delight.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Caramelised apricot, almond & orange blossom upside-down cake from Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • I’ve had the best time making delicious Italian desserts from La Vita E Dolce. Every cake has been scrumptious... All in all, La Vita E Dolce is a gorgeous cookbook with brilliant dessert recipes.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Vita e Dolce added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • ...a nice balance between sweet and savoury, and showcases the main ingredient really nicely. I also like the little bits of white chocolate that give this cake a little creaminess too.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Matcha and white chocolate cake from Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • The finished black sesame ice cream is delicious and very moreish.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Black sesame ice cream from Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • ...a delicious and wholesome bowl, perfect for a weeknight dinner.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Udon with sweet and savoury beef (Niku udon) from Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • ...even though the recipe is simple, the finished dish is everything but. It’s got great complexity...
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Rice bowl with chicken and omelette (Oyako-don) from Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • ...super easy, and the burgers come together really quickly...in about half an hour you’ll have a deliciously charred and sticky teriyaki chicken burger.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Teriyaki chicken burger from Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • Murota has done a great job...It’s an introductory book to easy, everyday Japanese cooking. With a couple of special-occasion dishes also thrown in – but nothing too intimidating.
    by Wrap Your Lips Around This about Tokyo Cult Recipes added on January 12, 2022   -  full review

  • There’s a boatload of vegan and vegetarian inspiration in Thali, and most of the recipes are gluten free. Maunika also uses her recipes to give pointers on alternatives and accompaniments...
    by Kavey Eats about Thali added on January 09, 2022   -  full review

  • A beautiful book that shares recipes that bring the rich diverse culture of Indian cuisine into our homes.
    by Eat Your Books about Tarkari added on January 05, 2022   -  full review

  • A spectacular second offering by Ravneet Gill which is guaranteed to release the inner pastry chef in us all.
    by Eat Your Books about Sugar, I Love You added on January 03, 2022   -  full review

  • Alongside the helpful cultural insight, personal stories and charming anecdotes these recipes provide a solid and very delicious introduction to Malaysian cooking.
    by Kavey Eats about Sambal Shiok added on January 01, 2022   -  full review

  • Tim's books are keepers and as close to experiencing Japanese fun in your own kitchen as you will ever come.
    by Eat Your Books about Your Home Izakaya added on December 14, 2021   -  full review

  • Another winner from the GBBO star. Fast delicious cakes that will be sure to impress.
    by Eat Your Books about One Tin Bakes Easy added on December 14, 2021   -  full review

  • ...Urushido continues to paint a vivid picture of his life and career. Getting to know the cocktails in this book is getting to know Urushido and all of the people he’s met on his journey so far.
    by Food52 about Japanese Art of the Cocktail added on December 11, 2021   -  full review

  • A unique and exciting book from one of my favorite bloggers.
    by Eat Your Books about Marbled, Swirled, and Layered added on December 10, 2021   -  full review