Let Them Eat Vegan!: 200 Deliciously Satisfying Plant-strong Recipes for the Whole Family by Dreena Burton

Search this book for Recipes »

Notes about this book

  • lubitsch on May 19, 2013

    I've made the Warmly Spiced Quinoa Chickpea Stew with Figs recipe a few times and it's always a hit with everyone.

Notes about Recipes in this book

You must Create an Account or Sign In to add a note to this book.

Reviews about this book

  • Oregonian

    Burton emphasizes whole foods, greens and beans, with plenty of international flavors to keep menus varied. There's just the right mix of difficulty, with enough easy recipes for novice cooks...

    Full review
  • ISBN 10 0738215619
  • ISBN 13 9780738215617
  • Linked ISBNs
  • Published Mar 22 2012
  • Format Paperback
  • Page Count 288
  • Language English
  • Countries United States
  • Publisher The Perseus Books Group
  • Imprint Perseus Books

Publishers Text

In the tradition of "Vegan Lunch Box" and "The Gluten-Free Vegan", this title features 200 whole-foods based recipes with an emphasis on wheat-free and gluten-free options from one of the first vegan bloggers and author of 3 previous books. Dreena Burton has always cooked and baked with whole foods and lesser processed ingredients, but this book goes a step further in whole foods recipes. Vegan eating is no longer just about not eating meat, dairy, and eggs. It has evolved to eating nutrient-dense foods everyday like beans, leafy greens, whole-grain pastas, sweet potatoes, nuts and seeds ...and finding ways to make them into delicious sauces and dips and burgers and casseroles. This cookbook provides 175 recipes based on whole foods and unrefined, lesser processed ingredients - no white flour, no white sugar, more natural sweeteners, and savory recipes using legumes, whole grains, nuts and seeds, and vegetables. The bulk of the recipes are wheat-free and many more are gluten-free or made with raw foods. Recipes include Coconut Banana Muffins, Nutty Veggie Burgers, Almond Roasted Cauliflower, Triple Threat Chocolate Coconut Macaroons, Pumpkin Spice Cake, and more! Burton is known for the "cook's notes" she includes with every recipe - tips, substitutions, and serving suggestions you might receive from your vegan best friend. Her recipes feel genuine, approachable, and friendly as she talks you through the preparation and cooking processes. And as a soccer mom, Burton always has her kids - and their taste buds - in mind. Her recipes are sure to delight even the pickiest eaters and provide lifelong vegans with the practical recipes they've always wanted.

Other cookbooks by this author